2014 Definition Stage 1 of Meaningful Use

Published On: October 31, 2014 | Categories: Government, HIPAA, Industry News |

Stage 1 Meaningful Use

From the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services website

The Medicare and Medicaid EHR Incentive Programs provide financial incentives for the meaningful use of certified EHR technology to improve patient care. To receive an EHR incentive payment, providers have to show that they are meaningfully using their EHRs by meeting thresholds for a number of objectives. The EHR Incentive Programs are phased in three stages with increasing requirements.

Eligible professionals participate in the program on the calendar year, while eligible hospitals and CAHs participate according to the federal fiscal year.

Providers must attest to demonstrating meaningful use every year to receive an incentive and avoid a Medicare payment adjustment.

Requirements for 2014 Stage 1

In August 2014, CMS released a final rule that grants flexibility to providers who are unable to fully implement 2014 Edition CEHRT for an EHR reporting period in 2014 due to delays in 2014 CEHRT availability.

Providers scheduled to demonstrate Stage 1 in 2014 who have successfully implemented 2014 CEHRT would use 2014 Stage 1 core and menu objectives.

Providers who are still using 2011 Edition CEHRT or a combination of 2011 and 2014 Editions and choose to report 2013 Stage 1 core and menu objectives should visit the 2013 Stage 1 of Meaningful Use webpage .

Criteria for providers demonstrating 2014 Stage 1 is listed below.

Eligible professionals must meet:

  • 13 required core objectives
  • 5 menu objectives from a list of 9
  • Total of 18 objectives

Eligible hospitals and CAHs must meet:

  • 11 required core objectives
  • 5 menu objectives from a list of 10
  • Total of 16 objectives
Go to Top
Seraphinite AcceleratorOptimized by Seraphinite Accelerator
Turns on site high speed to be attractive for people and search engines.