Netflix Phishing Scam

The latest email you need to look out for is the Netflix Phishing Scam.  If you receive an email saying your account is disabled, DO NOT CLICK ON ANYTHING!  Scam or “phishing” emails that look like they’re coming straight from Netflix are asking customers to update their payment information. Customers are told there was a billing error, and are asked to either email their billing information, or click on a link to enter it. The email even includes “copyright” dates — but the notice is not coming from Netflix.

Dear User,

We’re having some trouble with your current billing information.  We’ll try again, but in the meantime you may want to update your payment information.  RED FLAG.   If you are a recipient of one of the emails, do not reply with your account information and do not click on the link. Netflix says it will never ask users to send personal or payment information via email. “Phishers will go to great lengths to try to take over your account or steal your personal information. They may create fake websites that look like Netflix, or send emails that imitate us and ask you for personal information.”

 

What should you do?

  1. Change your password regularly
  2. Understand what a Phishing attempt looks like
  3. Report fraudulent activity
  4. Sign out of unused devices
  5. If you are suspicious, don’t click on it.

Remember, hackers and thieves are constantly trying to get your credit card information.